Sushi in San Francisco: Vegetarian, Vegan and Environmentally Friendly

26 Sep

OK. So as I mentioned in my previous post, I sometimes just really want sushi. I adore sushi. But it definately has it’s issues. It’s almost never organic, vegetarian and vegan options are often scarce and, let’s face it, rather boring, and I’m almost afraid to bring up the issue of being environmentally friendly and seasonal. Oh and there tends to be a lot of sugar used in sushi.  I’ve been eating sushi recently and was suprised to find a restaraunt in the city that had a rather large and suprising vegetarian dinner. I’m still not quite sure what everything on the plates were, but everything was great and the amount of food served with the veg. dinner was at least twice as much as the non-veg options.

So, I though I’d write a bit about the sushi available in San Francisco. I’ve yet to eat at an organic or environmentally friendly Japanese restaraunt but I know that some do exist. Consider the following to be a To Do list!

Cha-Ya Vegetarian Japanese http://sanfrancisco.citysearch.com/profile/41907302 I’ve heard good things about this place but have yet to try it!

Minako Organic Sushi http://sanfrancisco.citysearch.com/profile/11652781/ I stumbled on this place once but haven’t yet tried it out. I know very little about what they serve, how much of it is organic and what their general practices are.

Hana Zen Sushi http://www.hanazenrestaurant.com/ This place has one of the best vegetarian/vegan meals I’ve ever eaten. The Vegetarian Dinner includes, sushi, tempura and yakitori.

To be honest, I’ve had a difficult time finding reference to any sushi restaurants in San Francisco that take it upon themselves to provide seasonal, local items or pay much attention to sustainable fishing. So I looked up the Seafood Watch page at the Monterey Bay Aquarium. It’s a great resource and has a lot of information for those of use who’d like to make sustainable choices when eating fish.

One Response to “Sushi in San Francisco: Vegetarian, Vegan and Environmentally Friendly”

  1. AB September 28, 2007 at 7:46 am #

    If you’re concerned about the oceans and the sustainability of seafood choose fish and seafood that carries the blue ecolabel of the MSC (Marine Stewardship Council). This shows that the seafood has come from a fishery that has been independently certified as sustainable and not contributing to the problem of overfishing. Find outlets selling MSC-certified seafood at http://eng.msc.org/html/content_531.htm.

Leave a Reply

