Something old, something new, something borrowed, something awesome!

3 Oct

This post has nothing to do with marriage. But it does have  to do with something I am very interested in: Food History. Also known as Culinary History, Culinary Anthropology and Nutritional Anthropology, it’s the study and appreciation of food culture and the history of food an recipes made throughout human existence. I am not sure why I am quite so fascinated with food history, but I have a vivid memory of listening to a segment on NPR that ended with a female voice stating her name and title “Culinary Anthropologist”. When I heard that phrase, I nearly fell over. At the time I thought it was the coolest profession I had ever heard of. I mean, who wouldn’t be interested in popular dishes of the Roman empire? The history of Christmas dinner? The evolution of food from basic necessity to fine cuisine?

Anyway, for those of you who are already interested in this sort of thing, or those of you who might be, here are some online resources:

Food History News

Powells.com Books – Historical Food and Cooking

Gastronimica – The Journal of Food and Culture

Culinary Historians of Northern California

Eat Feed – The Sound of Good Food

Historic Food by Ivan Day

Culinary Anthropolgy on NPR

The Food Timeline

Plant Cultures

Leave a Reply

