Cooking: classes, volunteering and sharing.

29 Oct

A number of months ago I was looking for classes on nutrition in the area and came across a program list on the website for the Cancer Project. It’s a no-cost, 8 week program focusing on nutrition for cancer patients as well as prevention. It’s vegan too! And I’ve signed up for it. I’m quite excited…

And, just today, a friend pointed me to another interesting thing happening in Berkeley. Karma Kitchen, is a once-a-week event where food is prepared and served by volunteers and is completely free of charge. I’m thinking about volunteering, though may attend once first.

I am curious to see what other, interesting food related things are going on around here. I had heard about Food Not Bombs a while ago and later heard that there had been some problems with the chapter in San Francisco. I’ve yet to see evidence of it in the city but the SFFNB website does look active and up to date. There’s also some interesting information about FNF on wikipedia. Must check out.

Leave a Reply

