Sharing the Purkle…

22 Mar

So last night my significant other made the main course for dinner. In my opinion, it’s the best thing he’s ever made and wanted to ‘share the yum’ with the rest of the world. Or, at least the people that read this blog.

Red Snapper with Capers and Mushrooms
This recipe gets 4 Purkle Stars
4_purkle.jpg
Ingredients:
  • 2 lbs Red Snapper (I bought ours at Whole Foods)
  • 6 Portabellini mushrooms sliced, (8-10 brown mushrooms would also work well)
  • 2 Tbs capers (or so)
  • 1/2 cup white wine
  • Tbs white Balsamic vinegar
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste

Cut the snapper into 2 inch thick strips. Place in skillet (already warm with olive oil) with mushrooms and add the rest of the ingredients. Keep in mind that aside from the fish and mushrooms, I guessed on the amount that was used as the information was not written down and I was busy with friends and drinking the rest of the white wine. Adding a bit at a time and tasting along the way probably won’t hurt. The end result should be a perfectly cooked, flaky fish and mushrooms that have absorbed all of the liquid.

This was served with a nice salad! I wasn’t smart enough to get a photo!

One Response to “Sharing the Purkle…”

  1. cala March 22, 2008 at 6:29 pm #

    this really was a SUPER meal – I’d give it 4.5 stars but it’s not fair to toot my own horn.
    I browned the mushies 1st in light olive oil, maybe 5 mins or so, then added the fish & capers & wine and balsamic – the fact that we used white balsamic made a HUGE difference to the taste, and I kept turning the fish so it got nicely carmelized. I probably did 1/4 cup each of the vinegar and wine – more wine went into my glass than in the fish, too.
    Ultra-yumz.

Leave a Reply

