Recipes Are Good

27 Jun

So, over the last few weeks, I have been doing a bit of a spring cleaning.. of the mind! For many months I was having trouble commiting to the effort of cooking on a regular basis. I was even having a bit of a block when thinking about what to make so, for the most part, I didn’t really make much of anything.

A few weeks ago I discovered an interesting radio show called Green Tea and Honey which really helped to remind me about some of the reasons that I really love food. It ocurred to me that a way to help get back into the spirit of cooking would be to follow someone else’s recipes. I know, what a concept…

The reality is that I have a nice collection of interesting cookbooks that I have a tendency to glance over once or twice and put on my shelf next to the others. I rarely cook using any of the recipes in these books (I am more likely to search on the internet for recipes) and I think this is a real shame.

I have already begun trying some trying some recipes but I am setting myself a goal of making a recipe from one of my cookbooks at least once a week. This should also help me with my meal planning.. since through the last few months I have not changed my shopping habits – still buying lots of great, fresh local produce and wasting most of it. Not exactly mindful or responsible of me.

I intend to post once a week going over the each of the recipes.

One Response to “Recipes Are Good”

  1. Véronique June 28, 2010 at 7:01 am #

    Looking forward to it!

Leave a Reply

